In this article, similar to the last one, we’ll explore perspectives  of an idea with logic.

Today’s topic: denying service to people in a business.

You’ve most likely seen news of businesses denying service due to discrimination (example: A Texas bakery refusing to bake a cake for a gay couple’s wedding).

Is that right? Should they be able to deny service to such people?

From a moral perspective, no they shouldn’t. It’s noble to hold a high moral standard, and this would include showing love and acceptance to all people. After all, it is called the United States. If I’m a Christian, perhaps it’s right for me to still provide service to a gay couple 1) because it brings me business and 2) they’re humans; they live, laugh, and learn just as I do, even if they live a different way. If I’m, for some reason or another racist, it’s just for me to put those differences aside.

From a perspective of liberty, however, perhaps I should be able to deny people service at my discretion. If I’m so dead-set in my beliefs and shun a gay couple, maybe I should be able to not serve them. After all, it is my business, no matter how morally unjustified my choice may be. If I choose not to serve someone, I accept the consequences of not gaining a profit from them and the fact that word may spread of my discrimination. In the name of liberty, they can do whatever the hell they want with their business or product.

Thankfully, we have laws that protect us from being discriminated against in the hiring process of a job. However, how well do those work? Just because I won’t blatantly tell you that I’m not hiring you because you’re gay or black doesn’t mean that that’s not the real reason. If I have two potential employees of equal caliber, one white and one black, I could hire one because of their race and the other would most likely have no proof to sue me.

Moral of the story: perhaps we need to consider the fact that we cannot force someone to not be discriminatory with laws. How do we end it? Quite frankly, I don’t know. Experience trumps all. The millennial generation, as a whole, seems to be highly sensitive to discrimination and other social injustices, so maybe their awareness will spread to those still living and the generations to come.

