Now this is a story all about how my life got flipped turned upside down, and I’d like to take a minute so sit right there..

theme_0

One glorious afternoon, my campus was hosting an “International Food” day with dishes ranging from all over the globe. The birds were chirping, the sun was shining, and all was well with the world. Hungry, broke, and hungover, I decided to go. I was standing in the mile-long line for the Mediterranean food where I stoked  up a conversation with the cute girl in front of me. I was diggin’ it, so was she, and then everything changed. I don’t remember what we were talking about, but I ended up telling her about wanting to get a tattoo of the chakras on my spine. (Yes, I actually did want to do that at this..deluded point in my life). A friend from behind called my name, and I looked back to say hello. When I turned back to the cute girl, she had disappeared. She was nowhere in sight. SWERVE.

And it was at that moment that I realized – I might be full of shit.

FB_IMG_1489532554096

It turns out, I was.

American science writer and editor in chief of Skeptic Magazine, Michael Shermer, says in his book The Skeptical Encyclopedia of Pseudoscience, “The chakra system… has no proven relationship with the anatomy or physiology of the human body. Nothing resembling the energy of the Chakras has ever been detected, despite the exquisite sensitivity of modern instruments.”

Transcending human consciousness to the 5th dimension and the superpowers of crystals on our Chakras sounds cool..in the same way that wizards, superheros, and unicorns sounds cool.

FB_IMG_1489532077836

Furthermore, there are certain studies that correlate different energies “centers” in the body. However, there have been no conclusive studies whatsoever that show Chakra energy centers in the body, nor any other energies in Hindu mythologies.

Let’s be real: Just because they haven’t been proven by science doesn’t mean they won’t, but that’s similar to saying just because we haven’t found leprechauns doesn’t mean we won’t.

 

 

